South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners OJT Overview Meeting Minutes November 20, 2023 9:00 a.m. Via WebEx Teleconference

1. Meeting Called to Order

Meeting was called to order at 9:00 am.

a. Public notice of this meeting was properly posted at the SC Board of Barber Examiners office, Synergy Business Park, Kingstree Building and provided to all requesting persons, organizations, and news media in compliance with Section 30-4-80 of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act. Members of the public who wish to attend may do so by telephone. For call in or logon information, please email boardinfo@llr.sc.gov.

b. Rules of the Meeting

In attendance via WebEx were Paul Robinson, Board Chair; Theresa Brown, Program Director, Tracy Adams, Board Executive; Mary League, Advice Counsel; Robynn Devine, Staff; Lakin Raulerson, Staff; Ezekiel Watt, Paulette Allen, Zachary Grimm, James Terry, Larsel Allen, Chera Brown, Orlin Maldonado Munguia, Edwarded Deveaux, Carlos Witherspoon, Jabaar Carmack, Juan Serrano, Gregory Harris, Michael Gallegos, William Smalls, Carlos Velasquez Acosta, Curtis Mings, Champion Mafunga, Justin Yarbrough, Markel Bailey, Monique Johnson, and Robert Bligen II.

The roll was taken by Ms. Lakin Raulerson.

2. Review of Statutes and Regulations

Mr. Paul Robinson discussed the purpose of the OJT training and the requirements for both the instructors and students. During the discussion, Mr. Robinson discussed the purpose for OJT Overview and to review the Statutes and Regulations that is relevant to the Barber OJT program. The goal is that each instructor and student understands what is required of them during the OJT process and what to expect when the inspector comes to their location.

The applicant is not considered enrolled in an OJT program until the date of issuance of the student permit. Any work prior to today's date, November 20, 2023, cannot be used towards the 1920 hours that the student must achieve. Training may begin on today, November 20, 2023 and permits will be mailed directly to the address that is on the application. Training permits are not transferrable. Students are not allowed switch barbershops or instructors. Even if the barber instructor have more than one location, the student permit will only be valid for the address that is on the permit.

Each student must have the tools and implements prior to the start of their training. That includes the complete kit, board approved textbook, workbook, all tools and implements relevant to the exam that they are preparing for.

Instructors should maintain daily hour sheets for their students. The total of those hours should be noted on the monthly hours report. The monthly hour sheets are due in the office by the 10th of each month. The Board allows a 10 day grace period that is given to the instructors for them to upload a copy of the monthly report before the 10th of the month. At this time, there is one way to submit hours and that is through the LLR website. Instructors are able to upload monthly hours for the individual student. It is imperative that the monthly hours is signed by the student and the instructor. One of the things that inspectors will ask for is a copy of the daily sign in sheet and monthly hour's sheet. It is recommended that instructors are to keep the monthly reports on the property, in a safe place and students keep a copy of their hours at an off-site and safe location. Instructors are required to submit monthly hours even if the student earns 0 hours. If a student withdraws or completes the program, instructors are required to submit a training affidavit within 5 business days of the student withdrawing or completing

the program. A copy of the training affidavit should be given to the student. The training affidavit should mirror the hours that have been submitted on the monthly reports. The training affidavit may also be uploaded to the LLR website. Instructors can download a copy of the monthly report, training affidavit, and any other documents from the LLR website. The daily sign-in sheets may be maintained in a digital format but a hard copy must be maintained as well so when the inspector comes, the instructor can provide them a hard copy of the daily sign-in sheets.

If the instructor holds a Register Barber license and a Register Barber Instructor license they can only train a student to prepare to take the Register Barber exam. If the Instructor hold a Master Hair Care Specialist license and a Master Hair Care Specialist Instructor license, they can train a student to take either the Registered Barber exam or the Master Hair Care Specialist exam.

It is the instructor's responsibility to make an assessment of the student and provide the student on what is needed for them to be successful in their program. Students should have a minimum of one hour of theory training per day. It is recommended that instructors keep a working list of the chapters that they assign and any outside work they may assign to the students. Students are to keep their barber book with them at all times and to use their time wisely if they are not performing barber services.

As a result of the pandemic, the Board has approved 100% of the theory training can be performed using digital platform. Only up to 50% of the practical training can be used on a digital platform. For Master Hair Care Specialist preparation, online and digital training is not allowed to be used for teaching chemical application services such as relaxers, colors, and permanent waving. Chemical applications should be taught in-person. The approved publishers have digital platforms that can be used for training.

The two approved publications are Pivot Point Fundamentals of Barbering 1st edition and Milady Standard Professional Barbering 5th or 6th edition. Both publications offer their textbook, assessments, workbooks, in a digital formation. Workbooks and textbooks are to be with the student every day. Instructors must use the up to date publications because the exam questions are coming from those resources. It was highly encourage that students do not use YouTube as a source of training and to depend on their instructors.

As a supplement to the textbooks, the testing company has what is called a Candidate Information Bulletin. It is highly recommended that the instructors download the Candidate Information Bulletin in addition to the textbook and workbook for themselves and the students. The Candidate Information bulletin breaks down the curriculum components that will be tested on theory as well as the practical for Registered Barber and Master Hair Care Specialist. The practical exam for Registered Barber has 5 parts. For Master Hair Care Specialist, it has 9 parts.

The testing company also provides a test overview. The last overview they held was November 6, 2023. Before the end of next year, there will be another overview and it is encouraged that instructors participate in that overview. It will most likely be a hybrid format where instructors can be participate online or in–person. It will give the instructors everything they will need to prepare the student for the exam. If instructors change their email address, they need to notify the office to update it.

The curriculum has been adjusted for the Master Hair Care Specialists and the Registered Barbers. The difference from the previous curriculum is that the discretionary hours are divided amongst the curriculum. There are no more discretionary hours. The curriculum for each license category, all of the hours have been allocated to specific areas. For Registered Barber OJT students, would follow the Registered Barber curriculum and for Master Hair Care Specialists OJT students, they would follow the Master Hair Care Specialist curriculum. The total hours have not changed, the total is still 1920 hours. On the training affidavit, instructors submit only up to the 1920 hours.

Instructors were informed for the training affidavit, to not submit more than 1920 hours even if the student has earned more than 1920. NIC has an overview for purchase for around \$30. It will give

instructors the complete walk through of the practical examination. The Candidate Information Bulletin is imperative to be successful.

There are no acceptable reason why instructors should withhold hours from students. It is the instructor's responsibility to submit those hours to the office.

Mr. Paul Robinson opened the floor for students and instructors to ask questions.

Ms. Lakin Raulerson did a final roll call.

3. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 9:35 am.